Horace Mann - NEA Foundation Award

Education Programs

Horace Mann partners with the NEA Foundation to recognize, reward and promote excellence in teaching through the annual Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence.

We congratulate the following 2022 winners:

  • Adriana Abundis Alonso, a master educator at Sidney Lanier High School in San Antonio, Texas, nominated by Texas State Teachers Association.
  • Natalia Benjamin, an English language educator at Century High School in Rochester, Minn., nominated by Education Minnesota.
  • Chris Gleason, a music educator at Patrick Marsh Middle School in Sun Prairie, Wis., nominated by Wisconsin Education Association Council.
  • Kathy Purviance-Snow, a career and technical education/social studies educator at Snohomish High School in Snohomish, Wash., nominated by Washington Education Association.
  • Alexandra Castellano Smith, a Spanish/English as a Second Language educator at Sand Ridge Junior High in Roy, Utah, nominated by Utah Education Association.

Nomination Process

Each spring, the NEA Foundation accepts nominations from NEA federal, state and direct affiliates for the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence. All nominees must be nominated by an NEA affiliate.

Learn more about the online nomination process at the NEA Foundation’s website.

WBER-0801 (5-22)

© 2023 Horace Mann Educators Corporation

CUSTOMER SERVICE Call 800-999-1030

  • Auto and Property
    M – F, 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Central time.
  • Life, Annuity and Group
    M – F, 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. Central time.